The Annapurna Conservation (ACA) is spread over 7,629 sq. km. of Kaski, Myagdi, Parbat and Manang districts in northwest Nepal. Established in 1986, the conservation area is surrounded by high mountains and deep valleys. A mosaic of ethnic groups has carved lifestyle out of its steep terraces and barren plateaus. The conservation area is also home to 1,226 species of plants, 38 species of orchids, 9 species of Rhododendrons, 101 species of mammals, 478 species of birds, 39 species reptiles and 22 species of amphibians.

Annapurna Conservation Area is a major trekking destination in Nepal. More than 40,000 tourists annually visit the conservation area. Ghandruk and Lwang are typical Gurung villages with scenic splendours. The National Trust for Nature Conservation, a leading non-profit and non-governmental environmental organization in Nepal, launched the Annapurna Conservation Area Project (ACAP) in 1986. ACAP’s grassroots philosophy involves local people in all aspects on conservation and development. The project aims to improve the socio-economic condition of the local people by integrating conservation and development. It encourages local people’s participatory involvement in the management of natural resources and community development activities.


Leave a Reply